Why some concerned about sending their personal browsing data to Google?

Published by Nikulsan | SEO
September 27, 2018.
Why some concerned about sending their personal browsing data to Google?


Yes, you heard right. When you log into Gmail or YouTube because of sync feature of browser you are automatically logged into Chrome. Recently, Google released a new version of its browser called Chrome 69. This offer convenience to end users but also raised privacy concerns.

Because of this forced login, some users are upset by the change, calling it a “forced login.” Chrome has nearly 60 percent of market share globally and also the most widely used browser in the word but when talking about privacy concerns users don’t want this matter go unnoticed. It was first discussed on Hacker News. Prof. Matthew Green of John Hopkins has also raised privacy and trust concerns about the change on his blog. One of his primary concerns is that Google will now receive users’ browsing histories without their full understanding and consent. After entering Google credentials and signing into Chrome users can accidentally activate sync without knowing it which allows Google to access their browsing data.

Google Clarified its Stand: There is a difference in automatic sign-in and sync. The browser data doesn’t go to Google automatically and that users must opt-in to have that happen.

Sometimes users typically just “agree” and “authorize” without reading terms and policies and jump into whatever they are searching for. Users must pay more attention while logging into any browser or sites and Google need to do much more communication around the logic and sync changes.

perspectives
PB